Elemental – Excerpt from NEW “Call and Response” Series

weightless, you move like charcoal
single exhalations turning lead
            to golden skin,
      you glow the storm clouds down

the clean-picked bones of cattle slope directly
      age by age: stone night
revolves the ghosts we carry
                  into frameless mist

how the moonlight marries you to air, how shadows
            merge, embracing you, the huntress,
      cloaked in smoke and blood and
frigid fire

About QuietMonolith

I was just a mild mannered young man living in Portland, OR, until one day....POOF! I turned into a crazy, nefarious, thieving, drug-crazed lunatic. I had lots of therapy and spent many months in hospitals and treatment facilities. Eventually, at the end of my rope, I decided to change everything. With the support of my family and friends, I have embarked on a quest to achieve optimum wellness. I am making radical changes in every part of my life, and in the way I approach the world in which I live. Follow my blog, The Wellness Quest, to experience what happens when a desperate addict takes hold of his destiny and devotes all his time and energy toward making a full recovery. I am also a writer and poet. Follow my blog, What We Left Behind in Crowded Rooms, to take a look at some of my recent poems.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Elemental – Excerpt from NEW “Call and Response” Series

  1. Jingle says:

    brilliant………

    A++

  2. Love the power of that final oxymoron…”frigid fire”! A dramatic piece of poetry!

  3. The opening line is fabulous, a stunning poem. I enjoyed it immensely.

  4. Pingback: Inspiration for Elemental | What We Left Behind in Crowded Rooms

Leave a Reply

