Graphite

a banded film across us
traces more
      than eyelids, more
than stumps of expatriated limbs

every texture drops to quilted
blocks, the gray light,
      frantic
laps the wet cement

the limit of displaced cartilage, a sense
of carving bodies out of clay
wake sifted rain-drops out
            and I embrace the flood

while the cars slip beneath streetlights
the heavy sky hangs, graphite, overhead

About QuietMonolith

I was just a mild mannered young man living in Portland, OR, until one day....POOF! I turned into a crazy, nefarious, thieving, drug-crazed lunatic. I had lots of therapy and spent many months in hospitals and treatment facilities. Eventually, at the end of my rope, I decided to change everything. With the support of my family and friends, I have embarked on a quest to achieve optimum wellness. I am making radical changes in every part of my life, and in the way I approach the world in which I live. Follow my blog, The Wellness Quest, to experience what happens when a desperate addict takes hold of his destiny and devotes all his time and energy toward making a full recovery. I am also a writer and poet. Follow my blog, What We Left Behind in Crowded Rooms, to take a look at some of my recent poems.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Graphite

  1. Jingle says:

    superb imagery.
    masterful poetry.

    keep it up.
    🙂

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 41(April 7-13, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  3. this is cool…

    share with us if you can, bless your day.

  4. Jingle says:

    how are you today?

    Glad to discover your poetry talent,

    join poets rally.
    make poetic friends, get encouragements via awards.

    come on in, the collection is to be closed within 26 hours.

    cheers.

    hope to see you in ASAP…..

    your talent rocks.

    keep writing…
    xx

Leave a Reply

