Thus Breaks the Light

thus breaks the light fantastic, over
            cars and human hearts (the acrid smell of
      what they called acid rain creates alarm)
      the madness of you putting each toe, gently
                        like inexperienced lovers
                  between layers of ocean and grit

            inside the helm the dark
is adhering to the faces and chests (pressed close
                              the barbs and arrows rage like split
                  second sorrows) and like a windowpane
      reanimates the gleam of glass in slanting sun
            gripping the edges of un-upholstered furniture:
                  the “us” of them, residing there

I cast the frame intrepid
                  out on desperate lands incremental
            inside wintered mansions (built of lead and sweat)
so like a house
of embattled cards
      malingering outside the drugstores
creeping along
                  the cardboard avenues

and where the sound erases shadow
the dark is simplified, is crowned in
            dimpled gold

About QuietMonolith

I was just a mild mannered young man living in Portland, OR, until one day....POOF! I turned into a crazy, nefarious, thieving, drug-crazed lunatic. I had lots of therapy and spent many months in hospitals and treatment facilities. Eventually, at the end of my rope, I decided to change everything. With the support of my family and friends, I have embarked on a quest to achieve optimum wellness. I am making radical changes in every part of my life, and in the way I approach the world in which I live. Follow my blog, The Wellness Quest, to experience what happens when a desperate addict takes hold of his destiny and devotes all his time and energy toward making a full recovery. I am also a writer and poet. Follow my blog, What We Left Behind in Crowded Rooms, to take a look at some of my recent poems.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

