Singularity

drawn down, through white
      and what is sunlight’s shape
      the softest heat of flame
against the softer
            tissue of your back
the empty space beneath the unencumbered eye
            and here, though famine spreads
      throughout the land
                  you are content

expanded brass like raindrops
                        full of gentle night
as powdered glow descends on morning skin
and now, alive, awake
                  becoming flaxen and more
            like what the day (curtains withdrawn)
                  caresses
      through our window

transient touch of cobalt, lingering
                  as time collapses in upon itself
                        to form a ribbon
            cut in thinnest strips
a moment purer – waiting
                  hands like waves of sound
                              that break
                                          like dawn
      on our tin roof
            over our bated breath
      where it is quiet
            and all is endless
                  now

About QuietMonolith

I was just a mild mannered young man living in Portland, OR, until one day....POOF! I turned into a crazy, nefarious, thieving, drug-crazed lunatic. I had lots of therapy and spent many months in hospitals and treatment facilities. Eventually, at the end of my rope, I decided to change everything. With the support of my family and friends, I have embarked on a quest to achieve optimum wellness. I am making radical changes in every part of my life, and in the way I approach the world in which I live. Follow my blog, The Wellness Quest, to experience what happens when a desperate addict takes hold of his destiny and devotes all his time and energy toward making a full recovery. I am also a writer and poet. Follow my blog, What We Left Behind in Crowded Rooms, to take a look at some of my recent poems.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Singularity

  1. Pingback: Love Your Monday | The Wellness Quest

Leave a Reply

